SKIP navigation
International Studies & Programs
UNO International Students on Facebook

UNO International Students

UNO International Admissions on Skype

UNO International Admissions

College Portrait Voluntary System of Accountability

UNO is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission's North Central Association. Learn more.

The Andy Award

Named in honor of former Omaha World-Herald Publisher Harold W. Andersen, the Andy Award recognizes the best international reporting by Nebraska-based news organizations. In addition, the Andersen-Gouttierre Awards recognize UNO faculty, staff, students, and members of the community for their contributions to international exchange and understanding.



The 2014 winners of the Andy Award are reporter Julie Cornell and photojournalist Andrew Ozaki of KETV Newswatch 7. Above, Cornell with Dr. Joseph Dumba, an Omaha doctor who grew up in the Kajo Keji region of South Sudan. The KETV journalists traveled with Dr. Dumba to his homeland and covered his efforts to improve health conditions for the area's half-million residents.

The resulting 30-minute documentary, broadcast in Spring 2013, tells the story of how Dr. Dumba rose from poverty, found professional success in the United States, and is now giving back to his native land. Segments from the documentary were also featured on KETV Newswatch 7’s nightly broadcasts.


Pitch your international story ideas. The Andy Award has become a grant program to encourage and fund international reporting projects. A total of $5,000 will be awarded to one or more news organizations or individual reporters who propose the best plans to cover a global story of importance to Nebraskans.

Judging criteria

Global awareness: How does the story raise global awareness and understanding among Nebraskans?

Journalistic experience: Is the reporter or reporting team experienced enough to capture the complexities of an international story and elegantly explain its relevance to Nebraskans? Prior international reporting experience is not required, but solid journalism credentials are preferred.

Audience reach: Is there evidence that the story will be published or broadcast? Will the story reach a large number of Nebraskans or a particular community that could truly benefit from the story’s perspective?


Open to Nebraska-based print, broadcast, and electronic news outlets.

A news outlet may submit multiple applications.

Freelance reporters may apply. Their application must include a letter of intent to publish or broadcast from a news outlet in Nebraska.

Funds may be used to cover the costs of international travel, accommodations, and related expenses. Applicants may request $5,000 or a lesser amount, depending on their proposed budget.

How to apply

Download the application. Complete and submit with up to one page of additional description.

Questions? Contact:

Katie Kresha, Manager of Marketing & Community Engagement


Winners will be announced February 1, 2016.

Past Andy Award Winners

The Andy Award has recognized outstanding international journalism in Nebraska since 1987. Thanks to the generosity of Harold and Marian Andersen, winners have received monetary awards since 2001, funded by a permanent endowment at UNO. Past winners:

  • 2015: Adam Leo Biga, Freelance, & Matthew Hansen, Omaha World-Herald
  • 2014: Julie Cornell & Andrew Ozaki, KETV Newswatch 7
  • 2011: Joseph Morton, Alyssa Schukar, Matthew Hansen, & Cate Folsom, Omaha World-Herald
  • 2009: Carol Katzman, The Jewish Press
  • 2008: KIOS-FM Radio
  • 2005: Ted Kirk & Gordon Winters, Lincoln Journal Star
  • 2004: Jared Hart & Gary Sadlemyer, KFAB Radio
  • 2003: Joe Duggan, Catherine Huddle, & Ken Blackbird, Lincoln Journal Star
  • 2002: Gordon Winters, Lincoln Journal Star; Charles Reinken, Omaha World-Herald
  • 2001: Scott Bauer & Nati Harnik, Associated Press; Stephen Buttry & Kiley Christian Cruse, Omaha World-Herald
  • 2000: Angela Heywood-Bible & Ted Kirk, Lincoln Journal Star; UNO Television
  • 1999: David C. Kotok, Omaha World-Herald
  • 1998: Jeff Carney, Robert Nelson, & Rick Ruggles, Omaha World-Herald
  • 1997: Charley & Norma Najacht, Custer County Chief; Henry Trysla, South Sioux City Star
  • 1996: Dewaine & Bobbie Gahan, Oakland Independent & Lyons Mirror-Sun; Jeff Bundy & Jason Gertzen, Omaha World-Herald
  • 1995: Stephen Kent, The Catholic Voice
  • 1994: Bill Eddy, Lincoln Journal
  • 1993: Kay Lavene, Kearney Hub
  • 1992: Bob Reeves, Lincoln Star
  • 1991: Mary Williams, KMTV Channel 3 Omaha
  • 1990: Steve Jordan, Omaha World-Herald
  • 1989: Loretta Carroll, KMTV Channel 3 Omaha
  • 1988: Ken Campbell, Scottsbluff Star Herald
  • 1987: Harold W. Andersen, Omaha World-Herald